Routines

It is 6:30am on a Saturday. I’ve been up for at least an hour, worrying about how in the world I’m going to teach my students to do so many routines next year, many of which are new to me, many independently, all while trying to honor autonomy/purpose/mastery (love, Daniel Pink).

First, I want to share my current idea of how the week could look (note: this hasn’t dealt with the fact the first period rotates and has students trickle in).

weekly sched

(Bloggers, how do I make this image bigger in the post?? It’s big if you click on it…
Also, YLP = Year Long Project)

From this, I have started a list of what routines I need students to be really good at. It’s rather intimidating.

–  Class meetings
–  Class jobs
–  Using the math “rough draft” journal (or whatever I end up calling it)
–  End of class
–  5 minute math
–  Group work
–  Individual work
–  Whole-class learning from each others’ work (discussion, gallery walk, etc.)
–  Revision days
–  Year-long-project days
–  Making a final product in writing, video, voice, or artistically (or other)
–  Submitting work on a blog

This scares me. I have only taught some of these as routines before. And not that successfully, all the time. But I want to do it. And I don’t think only doing some of it will work for me.

Hopefully, if I’m incredibly intentional, it will be fine/great?  Like, maybe September will only include …

–  Class meetings
–  Class jobs
–  Using the math “rough draft” journal (or whatever I end up calling it)
–  End of class
–  Group work
–  Individual work
–  Revision days
–  Making a final product in writing, video, voice, or artistically (or other)
–  Submitting work on a blog

Umm. Did I say only? Oy.

SL

2 thoughts on “Routines

  1. I’m awful at routines so it’s absolutely necessary for me to have access to what they are in many forms… on the wall, on my desk… I tended to have students who *loved* routine and they would help keep me honest…

  2. I can’t say that I’m good about doing this myself, but I can say that any routine should fit on a poster on the wall.

    And for September, I would take off the final project and the blog. The other stuff on the list is already quite an undertaking.

Leave a Reply

