What is this?

I am a fifth year high school math teacher in Boston, MA.  The entire time I have been teaching, I have been thinking about and searching for ways of teaching math that respect students’ thinking more than the traditional method of teacher-demonstration followed by student-practice.  Despite my best efforts to make that traditional method more student-driven, I have not felt successful.

So, after 5 years of thinking and trying, of reading and writing, of existential mind-scrambles, I have decided this summer to throw all my assumptions out the window, start from my own first principles of what math education should be, and create what I hope is a new kind of math classroom.  Luckily, I have an awesome colleague with whom to do this, and lots of other people to talk to about it.  I am hoping that through this blog, I can connect with a wider audience, show what works and doesn’t, hold myself accountable, and maybe meet some other people who are already doing this (are you that person? do you know them?).

SL

Leave a Reply

